Drinking around the World (Showcase)

I am graduating college in a little less than 3 months, and I have been pondering lately what to do to celebrate this accomplishment. I’ve been thinking about a cruise, going to California, going to Europe and so many different things. This thought process brought up something I’ve heard about before. Of course, I am talking about the infamous challenge of “Drinking Around the World.” No, this does not mean you have to chug at beer in Canada, and hop on a plane to Japan in order to make it for the 5′ o Clock Sake special. This is a challenge to drink around Epcot’s World Showcase. Now, I have not decided whether or not to do this, but I have researched people’s different experiences with it. This is definitely a fun and viable option and I would like to explore a few of the aspects of the “commitment” of drinking around the world with you.

Picture from Disfriends

Money: The first thing we must all remember is that this is a theme park. The prices are going to be higher than normal, and some options may not be the most ideal or tasty. I have read that you can easily expect to spend around $100. When I heard that number, I was kind of disappointed  because of the high price tag. Then I got to thinking and I realized you have to look at it as an experience. It is a fun game that can be played with friends, and it allows for tasting different drinks from all around the world. (The price tag is still substantially less than it would be if I actually drank around the world.) This adventure, however, is not the for the average Disney park guest. I say this because of the high cost of the park ticket; I feel like this is a better option of the pass holders because once the game starts it pretty much takes over your day. Overall, as a pass holder I feel like the $100 is manageable. Side Note: I have read that a good option to save money is to actually share the drinks with one other person instead of finishing them all yourself.

Pacing- Pacing is important because no one wants to see you as a hot mess stumbling around Epcot. It is recommended to take one’s time and enjoy the park and drinks rather than just down them and move on to the next area. I think this is a crucial part to the success of the mission. Enjoyment is the key factor here, and getting sick would turn the memories from good to bad. I think there should be a rule of no shots through the night because mixed drinks can convey the flavors of the country and cause less of a chance of over drinking.

People- This is something you need to do with other people. Honestly, if you are drinking around the world alone, that is kind of sad. So If I decide to do it, I plan on inviting some good friends or family, and then we can embark on this journey together. It is also a good idea to have one person who is not drinking nearly as much. When there are good people around to keep you company, it takes it from just a moment into an experience that is hard to forget.

Drinking Around Epcot allows for a fun chance to experience the other cultures of the world. I do not think that this is the experience to get super mega hammered, but rather a way to celebrate a special occasion of circumstance. I am definitely thinking about doing this, and I want to research it a bit more to see what drinks each country has to offer. I am really excited to try the avocado margarita! Remember the #1 rule: Stay Classy.

From Life on the Hyphen

Leave a comment